#JuliEats x The Vegan Dinosaur

IMG_20150728_151554_1

I was catching up with a good friend- Kaye (self confessed part-time vegan. haha) over at Facebook the yesterday. And it’s about high time that we see each other again. And by seeing each other, it involves eating. A lot of it. She then told me to try out her friends place called The Vegan Dinosaur. With an urge to try out something new, I typed the sweetest “YES”. I immediately researched the place but not too many reviews were written yet. Maybe I should just brace myself for what’s I am about to eat.

Fast forward earlier this afternoon when we reached The Vegan Dinosaur. Kaye and I were the only customers there apart from Ara’s Aussie vegan friend Darcy. He brought a lot of organic marang and durian and he hopes to bring all the fruits and the seeds back to Australia.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

We ordered:Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

a.) no-meat bolognese pasta

b.) their veggie burger and

c.) vanilla mango chia pudding

IMG_20150728_151349_1

no-meat bolognese pasta is made up of organic fusili pasta with bolognese sauce, aromatic basil and minced tofu as the meat substitute. It is best served cold. It’s like eating the usual pasta but there’s no meat. Minced tofu is a better idea for those who don’t like to eat or see tofu especially if you plan to let your kids eat this dish. You can request for Salt and Pepper. They will give you the Himalayan Pink Salt (oh yaaaas) and and organic pepper from Australia.

Processed with VSCOcam

Their veggie burger I must say is the bomb. You wouldn’t know it’s vegan just by looking at it. The patty is made up of chickpeas and a lot of herbs. And like the traditional burger, it is has lettuce, tomatoes, onions and a whole lotta lovin’ of bolognese tofu sauce. No mayo. Just a generous amount of mustard. And if that’s not enough for you, you can always ask for a tabasco sauce. I just wish there is an organic fries or sweet potato fries on the sides (Ara please?). That’s still vegan right?

And as for dessert, I asked for the chia pudding (sorry too excited to take a picture). I have been wanting to try one but I just want to taste it before making my own. MAN IT HITS MY SWEET SPOT! I have a thing for overnight oats but chia pudding is now my new favorite. Thanks to Kaye who told me how to make the pudding, I am now ready to make some chia pudding adventure. P.S now i know why it’s called a pudding because the consistency is creamy but it is very healthy. So thanks to the Aztecs, Mayans and Incans for making this a staple food.

The Vegan Dinosaur is really a good place for all vegans out there. I am so impressed that Lara has been doing this for 5 years now. I can never be a vegan in this lifetime. I cannot give up lechon, kare-kare and medium-rate steak just yet. And rice! I can’t live without it. I am however, aware that I should start eating healthy (high risk for cancer here) so I am starting to watch what I eat. The good thing about this store is that the prices are not over-the-top. I have been to different healthy stores here in Davao but they’re just to fancy.

I wish next time there are more menus and Ara, if you are in need of taste testers, please don’t hesitate to call me. Especially if you plan to put that healthy pancakes on your menu. 🙂

Their menu:

20150728_171111_1

20150728_171143_1 20150728_171111_1


The Vegan Dinosaur

Door 3, Red Lion Dormitel, Garcia Heights, Bajada, Davao City

(082) 300 0106

http://www.thevegandinosaur.com

https://www.facebook.com/deardecemberdc/timeline

Leave a Reply

